Washington criminal statutes regulating cannabis/marijuana.
In Washington marijuana is categorized as a Schedule I drug under RCW 69.50.201(c)(22);(30)
RCW 69.50.4013 makes it unlawful for anyone under the age of 21 years old to possess marijuana, unless the substance was obtained pursuant to a valid authorization. Persons over the age of 21 can possess up to one (1) ounce of usable marijuana, sixteen (16) ounces of infused product in solid form or seventy-two (72) ounces of infused product in liquid form. A violation of the statute is a Class C felony punishable by up to five (5) years in prison and a $10,000.00 fine. Possession of less than 40 grams by someone under the age of 21 is a misdemeanor punishable by up to ninety (90) days in custody and a $1,000.00 fine and loss of their driver’s license.
RCW 69.50.401 makes it unlawful for any person to manufacture, deliver or possess with intent to manufacture or deliver a controlled substance. Under subsection C of this statute provides that it is a Class C felony punishable by up to five (5) years in prison and up to a $10,000.00 fine.
Initiative 502 included changes to the Driving Under The Influence (DUI) statute, RCW 46.61.502 . There is now a per se limit of 5.0 THC concentration in a person’s blood. Unfortunately, this level has no scientific basis to show impairment and can create problems for regular users, because the per se level can remain in their system even if they have not used for days.
Possession, manufacture or distribution of any amount of cannabis/marijuana is illegal under Federal law.